Skip to content

Disabling voting for some suggestions

You can disable voting on your feedback board for all suggestions with specific statuses.

You might want to disable voting for a suggestion because:

  • the suggestion has been marked as “done”.
  • the suggestion has been marked as “not planned” or “won’t do”, and you don’t want customers to be misled into thinking you’ll change your mind if it gets more votes.
  • the suggestion is old, and is being kept only for archival reasons.
  1. In your Feature Upvote dashboard, go to your board’s settings

  2. From the left-hand navigation, select “Statuses”

  3. Find the status for which you want voting to be disabled, and select “Edit”

  4. Uncheck the setting “Allow voting on suggestions with this status.”

  5. Click “Save changes”

Now nobody can vote on suggestions with that status.

If you’ve turned off voting for a status, but want to re-enable it, then:

  1. In your Feature Upvote dashboard, go to your board’s settings
  2. From the left-hand navigation, select “Statuses”
  3. Find the status for which you want voting to be enabled, and select “Edit”
  4. Check the setting “Allow voting on suggestions with this status.”
  5. Click “Save changes”

  • You can disable voting on custom statuses.
  • To create an “Archive” of old suggestions that you want to preserve, you can create a new status called “Archived” with voting disabled, and assign old suggestions to this status.
  • If you want to temporarily disable voting for your entire board, use your board’s permissions settings.